Running changed my life.

Okay… So of you know me this next sentence is going to be a “duh Tonya” sentence, but it needs to be said: I am a runner. I used to say I am “kind of a runner” but when you run 100 miles in January 2015 you have to drop the *kind of.* I get into a lot of conversations about running. Why? Cuz it’s my passion and I will talk your ear off about it if you let me. I didn’t also have a desire to run. It was more like a hatred actually. I am pretty sure I once tried to convince a gym teacher that I couldn’t run cuz my legs died and gone to heaven. (Sixth grade, mr. rentz) anyways…

Things have changed. And running has changed my life. It has made me more confident in a lot of areas of my life. It has made me fall in love… With me. Running gives me time to think and ponder about the meaning of life.
I’ve seen parts of this city and other cities that I would have never seen without running. It challenges me. Through running I have also discovered that I am a bit competitive and this is a great outlet for that (even if my competition is usually myself.) I have more running clothes than regular clothes. I have done more 5ks than I can count. Also done a few 10ks and a few other ran runs. I’ve been called crazy more times then I can count… Ps crazy is my favorite compliment cuz I think I’m crazy too.

Well here is what happened tonight. It was a beautiful March day In Minnesota so I took the opportunity to run outside! After running in circles pretty much all winter at the gym (I don’t wanna know how many laps I’ve done on that track!) it felt amazing to run outside. The goal today was to run 5 miles (my favorite distance). As I started out I felt like I was kinda cruising along so I checked my pace. Uh it was showing me between a 7 and 7 1/2 minute mile. Wait what?!?! Back up.., my normal pace is about a 9:30 minute mile. So my goal quickly shifted to “I wonder how fast I can run a 5k…. Well… All I can say I wish someone was on the beaver island trail to snap a picture when I pushed stop on my Nike plus app…

IMG_2616.JPG

IMG_2622.JPG

I was so shocked that I had to snap a photo… There is no way I just did that. The feeling I had was indescribable. I was so freaking proud of that time. The time I a putting in at the gym is really paying off. When I was first conned into training for a 5k (yes I was kicking and screaming) I would have never pictured me A) doing it and B) enjoying it and C) having it change my life.

My encouragement to you would be… Try something you thought you hated or something that kinda pushes you outside of your comfort zone… You might find it changes your life. You might surprise yourself. You might just inspire someone. It doesn’t have to be running. Make it yours. Find something your passionate about and do it. Be you. Be proud of things you thought you would never be able to do! You get one life…. run with it (okay… I had to be a little Punny)

Oh and just so you know I kinda had to get back home… So I figured i should do another 5k. Second one not as fast (actually felt like a nice easy pace… Still was way faster than I EVER thought I would be able to do).

IMG_2626.JPG

I could keep going on… And if you ever wanna talk about running.. I’m your girl! But I will stop for now…. And to those of you that know me… I probably won’t shut up about this particular run for quite sometime. Consider yourself warned. 😉

3 thoughts on “Running changed my life.

Leave a Reply

