Change is good…. Right?!?!

To say my life has been turned upside down recently would be an…. Understatement! Had you told me a six months ago my life would be what it today I would have laughed at you. You’re just gonna have to trust me on this one… And I’ll say it’s not bad… Just different. WAY different. I’m gonna be real honest I haven’t totally been handling the changes all that well. I wish I could say I’m facing them head on with a super “can do” attitude and have been all rainbows and sunshine about it… But I haven’t. But I’m learning something and I think it’s causing me to grow. I think… So… As I do I write a blog about it for me to get things off my chest and be able to remind me down the road.

So… As I am facing these new challenges and trying to figure out how to deal I came to some interesting parallels. Just like most things in my life I start to relate them to my healthy living journey. Why? I dunno know… But it helps me. My transformation… Or *butterflyification* if you will… Can be summed up in a few key words.

Process
Patience
Perseverance
Practice

I didn’t lose weight over night. This whole “new job” isn’t going to click overnight. It’s a gradual process. Small chances. Plus if I never would have changed what I ate… Or never got off the couch I would be the same weight it was (or even more scary…MORE). I had to try some different things. I had to move out of my comfort zone.

Patience. Grrrrr. Something I don’t like. Really at all. I want results and I want them now! Want me to tell you a secret… It doesn’t work like that. At. All! You have to be patient. In life. In work. In weight loss. But that doesn’t mean you don’t keep working at it… which leads me to…

Preserverance!
Let me just say this. Don’t quit. Ever. I don’t care what the struggle is. Stay in the good fight always. This is where I get to talk about running. If you would have told me when I starting running and could barely make it through week 1 of the couch to 5k running program that I would come in 4th… Yes 4th place at the 5k I ran this past weekend I woulda said you were on crack. For real! I never.. Ever set out to be a runner… And Now…well I’m headed for 672 miles ran in 2015 alone. Hmmmm. Can we Preserverance?!?!?!

IMG_2630.JPG
And then there is practice. Another grrr. Making healthy choices and choices the gym over the bedside a struggle. Saying no to sweets and all kinds of other crap food I like… comes with practice. I still treat myself… And sometimes too much. But still. This whole new job thing is requiring a lot of practice. I still screw up. A lot. And I struggle with wanting to be perfect. And I think that’s the biggest hurdle in the ” new job”. I want to be good now.

Practice and patience is hard. I like easy. But nothing easy is worth it. Losing nearly 81 lbs was not easy. Maintaining = also not easy! Running= not easy! Worth it?!?! Absolutely!!!! I am putting my all into doing the best in this new job I have found myself in. I’m investing in me in hopes that it pays off in the long run. I am attempting to believe in myself…. When I know how much I am capable of screwing up. I am in it with an open mind and willingness to try new things and go out of my comfort zone. Why have faith in me?!? Cuz I’ve proven I can do hard things. And it has been worth it in the past. I’ve learned and grown through my weight loss journey and I don’t know why this would be different. It’s gonna be hard. But it’s possible! I’m believing in that 100%. I got this! Sometimes you have to step back and out things into perspective. This crazy time will pass and be the norm in no time. Just like one day/week or month of bad choices doesn’t derail a healthy living journey… A job change doesn’t derail who I am. Attempting to stay positive and remember who I am. I don’t know if any of that made any sense to anyone but me. But thanks for reading if you did. Now go out there and be awesome. You got this! No matter what it is that you’re facing. Let it help you flourish…. And stay positive. Attitude is key. But sometimes I forget! Okay. I’ll stop now… Wrote this all in the stationary bike and my legs are getting tired 😉

Leave a Reply

