What’s your excuse??!?!

So lately I’ve kinda been full of excuses. Excuses of why I can’t eat healthy or can’t work out. Of course I am fully capable or doing both… It’s just hard. Stress, changes and challenges are making it more difficult. Bottom line is I tend to turn into a whiney baby and don’t wanna. Don’t wanna work out and don’t wanna eat right. I like easy… But easy doesn’t really pay off now does it?!?! I think I covered that I’m my last blog. So why do I have to cover it again?!? Well cuz tonight I had an encounter at the gym that inspired me and needed to share it.

Sometimes the right person crosses your path at the right time. There is this gentleman I see at the gym quite frenquently. I will call him Jeff. His name isn’t Jeff…. But we never knew his name so we started calling him Jeff. Even though I learned his name at some point….he is still Jeff to me. Anyways… I haven’t seen him for a couple of months. Tonight he was at the gym. He always smiles and waves and says hi. Not usually a conversation to be had beyond him telling me I’m looking good and me saying thank you 😉 He is a super friendly guy. Anyways… I have noticed over the past year or so he seems to be having a harder time getting around. He is walking with a cane and doing way less than he used to. Come to find out tonight he has not been able to move his body for months and has not been at the gym for 2 months, he is dealing with Parkinson’s and dealing with bursitis and he is 66 years old. Says he can barely get up the stairs. When I asked him how he got to the second story of the gym, his response was “one step at a time.” This was super inspiring to me. Healthy living really is a “one step at a time” journey. He will never know that I’m sure… But him pushing through a workout, doing what he could was inspiration to me. He can not do what he once did. But him being there doing something was impressive!!! He did more than I wanted to do. I did manage to suck it up and Do my thing. How could I not after that! I know he wanted to do more… He told me that himself, but he physically couldn’t. Made me step back and realize that I have NOTHING to complain about. Seriously Ton… Suck it up. So next time I wanna play the “i don’t wanna” “I’m stressed” “I’m trapped in the couch” “I just wanna get fat” card… I hope I stop and think about Jeff. If he can get off the couch with actual reasons to stay there…, I can surely get my butt in gear. Dontcha think?!?! Think this photo I found on Pintrest sums it up the best.

IMG_0337.JPG

I don’t know what your excuses are… But I’m sure you can do something. Another quote I see on Pintrest a lot is…. “Do something today your future self will than you for” I don’t know who said that… But I think it a lot. Maybe it’s walking to the end of the driveway. Maybe it’s putting down the Little Debbie and picking up an apple. Little itty bitty teensy changes make lasting impact. Trust me on this one. We got this! Let’s dump the excuses and make headway in 20-FIT-teen. K?!?!?!

One thought on “What’s your excuse??!?!

Leave a Reply

